Moriarty – Anthony Horowitz

24 Nov

IMG_0606

I’m coming to the end of the 2015 reading lists.  My plan was to hit a book a week for the year but finishing this brought up number 61.  What was especially pleasing was that I kept one of the best until last.  This will absolutely feature in the top 5. Possibly top 3 or higher.

About two years ago I read the back catalog of the Sherlock Holmes mysteries.  I thoroughly enjoyed them for their ingenuity and style.  Credit has to go to Anthony Horowitz who very much tapes into that with his continuation of the Holmes era with a new detective in Athelney Jones.

The writing is sharp and well paced.  The characters are authentic and believable and the plot keeps you guessing while remaining believable.

All in all this was a really good read and to top it off it had a fantastic little twist at the end that I have to admit I did not see.  Worth a read.

Leave a Reply

