40:1

8 Oct

At the start of the year I embarked on a process of trying to make the literary world a little smaller.  That’s PR speak for saying that I took the books I read in 2014 and have been leaving them in random locations (on trains, in parks, in coffee shops etc.) for strangers to find, read and pass on.

IMG_0085

The way I see it I am not one to re-read books so it is better to let others enjoy them.

In January I had this naïve view of being inundated with tweets from people who had stumbled upon my offerings.  As more and more books were recycled I feared I wouldn’t be able to keep up with the praise and demand.  That bubble was quickly burst.

5 books in with no reply I was humbled.  15 books in I feared the worst.  25 books in I was depressed.  35 books in and my heart was no longer in it.  But low and behold, God loves a trier and 40th time lucky, 10 months after I began this, I reaped the rewards.  Finally someone has responded to a book by tweeting me.

IMG_0086

When I had this yesterday it made my day.  My only regret is that after passing on some fantastic reads throughout the year including Nathan Filer’s The shock of the Fall, We are all completely beside ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler, and Hilary Mantel’s The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher the one that was discovered was a run of the mill John Grisham.  Please don’t judge me.

I only have about 8 books left from the class of 2014.  My stockpile from this year however is both larger in quantity and certainly better in quality.  With this life affirming moment to boost me I can crack on again.  Hopefully you (yes you the person bored enough to read a blog about Welsh education and carrot cakes) will pick one up.

3 Responses to “40:1”

  1. RedHeadedBookLover October 8, 2015 at 11:45 am #

    I love reading about you reading books lol. You wrote an incredible post by the way and I love your blog!

    • hath53 October 8, 2015 at 12:39 pm #

      Thanks. Very kind of you to say. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chapter 1 | enjoythisbookblog - December 30, 2015

    […] pubs etc.) with a message for strangers to pick them up, enjoy and let me know what they though.  Depressingly I can’t say I’ve been that successful in the past.  That however has not dissuaded me nor undermined my […]

Leave a Reply

