The Last Treasure Hunt – Jane Alexander

24 Apr

photoOne of my favourite authors is Ian Banks and there’s certainly something of his work filtering through in this debut novel by Jane Alexander. I don’t know if it’s the style of writing, the rhythm of the plot, or simply the Scottish mood music in the background but it is there, and in my view that’s no bad thing.

The story follows Campbell Johnstone’s thrust into public life after the death of a childhood friend, the actress Eve Sadler.  It is a tale of celebrity and how quickly people can get carried away and lose themselves when chasing fame.

The book has its moments and offers a good critique into the morality of celbrity.  It started off brightly but sadly for me it seemed to loose a bit of steam around the middle section and just didn’t hold my interest.  I got through to the end but I’m not really sure it was worth the work.

Leave a Reply

