The Big Sleep – Raymond Chandler

15 Jan

photoEvery year I seem to discover a new crime/thriller writer that I explore for the year.  Last year it was Elmore Leonard whose books ‘Get Short,’ ’52 pick up’ and ‘Raylan’ made their way into my reading list.  The previous year it was John Le Carre I stumbled across as I read ‘Call for the dead,’ ‘The Spy who came in from the cold,’ ‘A murder of quality,’ ‘The looking glass war’ and ‘A small town in Germany.’  This year it could very well be Raymond Chandler that takes my crime writer spot.

The Big Sleep is the first novel featuring Chandler’s notorious private detective, Philip Marlowe.

I thouroughly enjoyed this book, even if it did seem a little drawn out at times.  For some reason at times I found it a little hard going, which is odd as it is a fast paced plot and always entertaining.  The writing is very good with some very quotable turns of phrases.  A few of my favourites included:

“I don’t mind your showing me your legs. They’re very swell legs and it’s a pleasure to make their acquaintace. I don’t mind if you don’t like my manners. They’re pretty bad. I grieve over them during the long winter nights.”

“It seemed like a nice neighborhood to have bad habits in.”

“You’re broke, eh?”
I been shaking two nickels together for a month, trying to get them to mate.”

As well as the Big Sleep I also have ‘Farewell, My Love’ and ‘The Long Good-Bye’ by Chandler that I’ll work through over the year.  Hopefully they live up to this first offering.

 

Leave a Reply

