Serial Addiction

6 Nov

serial-social-logo

For the last few weeks, since episode two came out in fact, I’ve been avidly tuned in to the Serial podcast.  I listen to a lot of podcasts anyway but none have gripped me the way this one has.  So much so that Thursday, the release day each week for the next episode, simply cannot come around quick enough.

The podcast follows one true story, looking at the different characters and events that make up the plot, over the course of a series.  In this first series the podcast is following the case of Adnan Syed, convicted in 1999 of the murder of Hae Lee.  Each episode is looking at different pieces of evidence and questioning the defence and prosecutions accounts.  I won’t go into any further detail for the fear of spoiling it for anyone not yet listening or up to speed.

What I will say is that the whole thing is just utterly compelling.  This is the closest thing podcasts have achieved to creating the buzz and anticipation of a blockbuster TV series.  Serial is the Breaking Bad of podcasts.

One complaint that is emerging is that there may, or may not, be a definitive ending.  No magic bullet to confirm once and for all the guilt or innocence of Adnan.  For a time that did trouble me.  I was worried that I was investing in something that would ultimately leave me unfulfilled.  However, I’ve since decided that the intrigue the podcast has created for me and the quality of the narration and content far outweighs that.

If you are not listening already I would highly recommend that you do.  It should go without saying but start from the start.  You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

