Fiori Pizzeria – Leicester square

24 Feb

Place

This cafe and pizzeria is on the busy corner of Leicester square.  The service was very quick but impersonal.  Hardly a surprise given the turnover of customers and footfall traffic that runs through the place.  Still I didn’t feel rushed while eating and the location was ideal enough given we were waiting for a show in the Prince of Wales theatre just up the road.

The Carrot Cake

photo
I have to admit this was one of the best, if not the best, carrot cake I’ve reviewed thus far on the blog.  Starting from the frosting, which is always the hero of the cake for me.  It was cool and firm just like I enjoy.  What is more there was a triple layer of frosting.  You cannot argue with that!  On top there was a decorative carrot made from marzipan which added another flavour dimension.

The cake itself had a strong but not overpowering cinnamon flavour.  There was an abundance of ingredients in the cake which gave it a lot of texture and it was moist throughout.

All in all this was a real winner and well worth being the cake to celebrate a year of the blog.

The Hot Chocolate

I didn’t have one from here but they were presented well from the ones I saw other patrons having.

The Rest

We were waiting to see the Book of Mormon musical.  A Christmas present to me from my good wife.  It was amazing. Brilliantly sung and very funny.  It is a tad close to the bone so if you are easily offended, or a Mormon, perhaps it is not for you.  If you are an easily offended Mormon then definitely do not go and see it.  Otherwise I would highly recommend it.

2 Responses to “Fiori Pizzeria – Leicester square”

  1. Kendra March 11, 2014 at 8:10 pm #

    Go to Ginger and white in Belsize park it is home to the best carrot cake in London trust me! The icings amazing but it’s the cake it self that’s second to none, very moist and nicely spiced you won’t be disappointed! Be sure to get there early cause it disappears fast.

    • hath53 March 12, 2014 at 9:54 am #

      If only I had seen this comment yesterday when I was in London. Thanks for the recommendation though. I’ll certainly try and check it out next time I am up there.

Leave a Reply

