Happy Birthday

18 Feb

Today the blog is one year old!

While recently the posts haven’t been as regular as I would have liked overall I’m really pleased how the first year has gone.  I honestly started this just to write about hot chocolate and carrot cake with a few very irregular posts about education.  It has developed into an education blog punctuated with the odd cake review when I am having a diet and training crash.

I’ve been able to do some good thinking around education issues through the blog which has helped my own development and understanding a lot.  There is a lot of focus on education in Wales and some brilliant people reporting on it, but often, simply because of the 24/7 news cycle, there’s not a lot of time to really have a debate.  Hopefully in part this blog has encouraged some of that to take place.  I’ve had some really good feedback and although still in its infancy I am aspiring to see it continue to grow.

I’m particularly pleased that I started the audio blogs and I think they have provided another level of depth to some of the education discussions this blog has prompted.  With that a massive thanks to Simon Thomas AM, Aled Roberts AM, Angela Jardine, Gary Brace and Sian Powell who did audio blogs with me over the past 12 months.  I have a few more I want to pursue but please let me know if there are any names you think I should reach out to.

Sadly I’m not planning on leaving the office today but I am off to London with my good wife on the weekend.  I will make sure I review a piece of  birthday blog carrot cake to mark this occasion.

Leave a Reply

