Coffee Barker – Cardiff

29 May

The Place

2

Located in Castle Arcade there’s a fair bit of competition for Coffee Barker, including the amazing Madame Fromage. There’s a nice decor to the cafe with comfy seating and big windows creating a relaxed atmosphere to reflect on life with some cake and a drink. We sat outside and the blankets provided on the seating was an especially nice touch.

3

The Hot Chocolate

4

Me and my good wife both had hot chocolates but for a change I opted for the white chocolate version. Sadly it turns out, perhaps rather unsurprisingly, white hot chocolate is quite sickly and I left the majority of it. That’s not a reflection on Coffee Barker to be fair but just that white hot chocolates are not for me. You live and learn.

The Carrot Cake

1

The icing was the hero of this carrot cake. Thick and with nice texture. As for the cake itself, the taste was there but I found it a tad dry, reminiscent of the carrot cake I previously reviewed at Cafe Brava. In the interests of balance I should say my good wife disagreed and enjoyed it.

The Rest

5

I did have a really lovely and spicy chicken and chorizo panini which added to the pleasant nature of the setting is enough to recommend a return visit.

Coffe Barker
Castle Arcade
Cardiff

2 Responses to “Coffee Barker – Cardiff”

  1. Dorine May 29, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

    Oooh Coffee Barker- absolutely love it. The only problem is that it’s far too popular and sometimes you just can’t get a space!

    I do agree on white hot chocolates, they tend to be a bit too sweet. Even normal hot chocolates sometimes are a bit sickly.

    • hath53 May 30, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

      Hi Dorine,

      Yes it was full when we went, which made the blankets on the seats outside very welcome.

      I have a very sweet tooth so never found hot chocolate sickly but clearly white hot chocolate is not for me.

      Owen

Leave a Reply

